Skip to the content

Essex Children’s University

The Children’s University in Essex was established in 2011 and in 2016 became a charity, managed by Essex Children’s University Trust with an experienced Trustee Board in place.

Since its inception 10,000+ children in Essex have participated in Children’s University Learning working alongside our growing network of Learning Destination Partners, from organisations working in local communities providing grass roots learning experiences to larger organisations representing the diversity of learning experiences available across the County.

Our schools membership programme, works with 60 schools across Essex, Southend and Thurrock, an incredibly diverse County, in local Campus areas which include Colchester, Braintree, Canvey Island, Basildon, Thurrock, Southend and Tendring.

Our Further and Higher Education Partnerships with Anglia Ruskin University; University of Essex; South Essex College and Writtle University College enable us to host 10 to 12 Children’s University Graduations per year, in communities local to our Children’s University Membership Schools.

We welcome enquiries from families who choose to educate their children at home and our CU Families programme facilitates the involvement of CU Learners who attend a non-membership Children’s University School.

If you are interested in working with us as a Learning Destination, joining us as a Membership School or wish to make enquiries of our CU Families programmes, please get in touch.


Debbie Bennett

Telephone: 01473 345436